Here’s a riddle for you. When does a foul ball count as strike three, when it isn’t a bunt and that kills a ninth-inning rally and stopped a four-game win streak?
The answer: in yesterday’s game between Cleveland-Boston. How can a foul ball be a strike three, you ask? That’s a great question. Two on, one out, and one of’s hottest hitters, is up to bat in the top of the ninth inning at , trailing 5-3. With a one-two count, a fastball comes up and in at Blake. Blake started to swing at the pitch, then realized it was coming at his head. Blake starts falling backwards, easily checking his swing. The pitch hits off his hand and the home plate umpire awards Blake first base.
Now the rally is on with the bases loaded, one out and
Wait, what’s this? Here comes Red Sox manager Terry Francona. Now what’s going on? First base umpire says Blake swung at the pitch and now he is being called out. How did that happen? Apparently the answer to the riddles is when a batter swings at a pitch that hits him, it’s dead ball and a strike. Does that make any sense?
“I didn’t know a dead ball could be strike. How can you have it both ways? It’s a terrible rule. It doesn’t make any sense,” Blake said after the game.
He’s right. A dead ball can’t be a strike three. Shouldn’t it just be a foul ball? The other problem is, BLAKE NEVER SWUNG AT THE PITCH! Therefore, he should have award first base. It’s a horrible rule that should look into changing like the NBA should look into changing their leaving the bench rule. Blake didn’t want to swing at the pitch (and he didn’t). He was just protecting himself. Because of the stupid rule, the Indians lost a game where they could have made an awesome comeback and stole one from the Red Sox and their annoying, barely understandable fans.